News Archives -> 2001-2002 Archives

AASU students Katherine Newman, Andrea Corcoran, Jarrett Walsh, and Katherine Harris entered prize-winning papers into the Research and Scholarship Student Exhibition.

AASU Announces Winners of Research and Scholarship Student Exhibition

SAVANNAH, GA—Armstrong Atlantic State University has announced the winners of its Eighth Annual Research and Scholarship Exhibition. The exhibition gives students who have conducted original scholarship the opportunity to show their work to fellow students, faculty, and visitors. Twenty-three projects, submitted by undergraduate and graduate students, were reviewed by judges drawn from the AASU faculty. The projects that earned top scores in clarity, merit, and visual presentation received cash prizes of $200 or $400.

The following students received awards for entering top-scoring papers into the exhibition:

Honors student Andrea Corcoran, Practice reduces gender differences on a paper-and-pencil mental rotation task. (Faculty advisor Jonathan E. Roberts, psychology).

Honors student Katherine C. Harris, Contributions of cholinergic maturation on L-dopa induced locomotion in developing rats and Factors that predict standford-9 test performance in Savannah-Chatham county public schools. (Faculty advisors Don Stehouwer and Stephen Taylor, social and behavioral science).

Katherine Newman, The effects of handling and cage-mate stimulation on emotionality and sociability in rats. (Faculty advisor Keith Douglass, social and behavioral science).

Honors student Jarret Walsh and Stephen West, New techniques for the purification of quercetinase from apergillus flavus. (Faculty advisors Delana Nivens and Will Lynch, chemistry and physics)

Graduate students Ruslan Hristov and Kiley Wynne, Using handheld devices for efficient restaurant ordering processing. (Faculty advisor Mark Burge, computer science).

The exhibition was sponsored by AASU's Research and Scholarship Committee, Student Government Association, Graduate Student Coordinating Council, and the deans of College of Arts and Sciences, College of Education, College of Health Professions, School of Computing, and School of Graduate Studies.

May 1, 2002


News Archives List