News Archives -> 2001-2002 Archives

Ray Gaster '72

Dan Reynolds '76, '85

AASU Honors Outstanding Alumni

Savannah, GA— Armstrong Atlantic State University announces the recipients of its 2002 Alumni Association Awards. Ray Gaster '72 received the Distinguished Alumnus Award and Dan Reynolds '76, '85, received the Outstanding Alumnus Award. The awards were established in 1988 by the Alumni Association Board of Directors to honor its high-achieving members. They are given each year as part of the university's homecoming celebration.

Ray Gaster received the Distinguished Alumnus Award in recognition of his many accomplishments as a professional and a community leader. He graduated from Armstrong State College with a B.A. in business administration. His college education was interrupted by the Vietnam conflict, during which time he served as infantry captain in the U.S. Army and was a decorated helicopter pilot.

Gaster is president and founder of Gaster Lumber and Hardware in Savannah. Started in 1985 with one part-time employee, the company now has grown to nearly 100 employees. Gaster Lumber has a five-acre lumberyard on Savannah’s southside, a 23,000 square foot retail home center in Garden City, and a lumberyard in Hardeeville, SC.

Gaster is past president of the Rotary Club of Savannah-South and is the founder and organizer of the Rotary Club of Richmond Hill. He is a board member of First Liberty Bank and Provident Health Services, Inc. at Memorial Health University Medical Center. Gaster serves on the executive committee of the AASU Foundation Board of Trustees.

Dan Reynolds, Sr. received the Outstanding Alumnus Service Award in recognition of his significant contributions to the growth and development of the university and the alumni association. He received his B.S. in criminal justice in 1976 and his M.S. in criminal justice in 1985.

Major Reynolds has had a distinguished career with the Savannah Police Department since 1972. He has held numerous command positions for the SPD including the Vice Tactical Unit, Property Crime Unit and the Criminal Investigation Bureau. Reynolds is currently commander of the Patrol Bureau and a strong proponent of community oriented policing, or C.O. P. In 2002 he served as Savannah's interim chief of police.

Reynolds has served on the boards of Leadership Savannah and the Rape Crisis Center and has been involved with the Police Executive Research Forum, the National Academy Graduate Association of the FBI, and the Fraternal Order of Police. He also is a graduate of the FBI Academy and a graduate of Leadership Savannah. Reynolds is an Armstrong Atlantic adjunct faculty member teaching both graduate and undergraduate classes. He is a ready and enthusiastic supporter of alumni activities and joined the AASU Alumni Board of Directors in 1998.

Past recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Award include: Dennis A. Pruitt, Phyllis Kravitch, Frank Cheatham, Arthur Gignilliat, Jr., Irving Victor, John Rousakis, Frank Barragan, Jr., George Nichols, Robert Strozier, Sidney Nutting, John N. McLaughlin, Harriet Kanter Konter, Alvie L. Smith, Don L. Waters, W. Ray Persons.

Past recipients the Outstanding Alumnus Service Award include: Craig Harney, Karl Grotheer, Terri Liles, Louis Reisman, Sr., David Dickey, Fran G. Arnsdorff, Millicent Melaver, Norton Melaver, Joan Epstein Schwartz, Grace Burke, Eleanor W. Boyd, G. Herbert Griffin, Irving Victor and Kenny Sellers.

January 30, 2002


News Archives List