News Archives -> 2001-2002 Archives

AASU to Hold Commencement Ceremony December 15

SAVANNAH, GA–– Armstrong Atlantic State University will hold a commencement ceremony on Saturday, December 15, for the nearly 400 students in the fall graduating class of 2001. The ceremony will begin at 10:00 A.M. in AASU's Alumni Arena. The event is open to the public.

The first presentation will be the conferral of the Honorary Doctor of Letters on retired urologist Irving Victor, M.D., by President Thomas Z. Jones and Interim Vice President Sara E. Connor. The degree is being awarded to Dr. Victor in recognition of his more than forty years of dedicated service to Armstrong Atlantic and the Savannah community. It is the first such degree to be awarded in AASU's sixty-six year history and is the highest honor the university can bestow upon someone.

Following will be a presentation of the Armstrong Atlantic faculty awards—the Award for Distinguished Service to the University; Award for Distinguished Faculty Service to the Community; Alumni Service to the Discipline Award; and Award for Distinguished Service by a Part-Time Faculty Member. The Dean Propst Award also will be presented to a faculty member who has been outstanding in teaching and learning and has encouraged student involvement in academic, co-curricular, and leadership activities.

After the introduction of the deans of the colleges of arts and sciences, education, health professions, and the School of Graduate Studies, President Jones will award diplomas to the undergraduate and graduate degree candidates.

For more information about the commencement ceremony, contact AASU's Division of Student Affairs at 927.5271.

December 4, 2001


News Archives List